The Friday Munchie Can You Say Jicama??

Hello friends!

Happy Friday! I hope all is well in your neighborhood. Things are great here. I have my first review for Finding Love Under a Rock, Image I will post it soon. Thank you so much Joanna Walker for taking the time to check out my latest release.

Today, I want to start a new feature with a yummy weekend recipe. I start off Friday wondering what my taste buds will get into over the weekend, and this weekend is no exception. Ever since I saw a recipe for Watermelon Jicama Salad…my mouth has been “water”ing, tasteful pun intended.

I’m posting before trying, but, have a feeling I won’t be disappointed, let me know what you think if you give it a go!

By the way, how do YOU pronounce one of the main ingredients? LOL it’s actually hɪkəmə – like Hiccup almost. Jicama is also known as a Mexican yam or turnip. It’s sweet starchy flavor is crunchy like an apple, raw potato or turnip. The root is the edible part, what I did not know was that the rest of the plant is poisonous. WHOA.

Watermelon Jicama Salad

  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • A quarter of a medium sized watermelon, cubed
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup fresh mint leaves, chopped
  • 1-2 cups chopped peeled jicama
  • 1/2 cup fresh flat parsley leaves, chopped

Toss together and serve chilled.

I’ve seen many variations of this recipe from adding cilantro, jalapeno, cumin, chile powder, etc.

Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

