Just Out of My Grasp – Misophonia Rears it’s Ugly Head

02/11/2014
Good morning!! I’ve decided to use my blog not only to writing, music, and other facets of entertainment, but, also to share my journey. I’ve had significant health problems for almost two years. Initially, my rheumatologist diagnosed me with systemic lupus (SLE) on June 19, 2013. However, the medication wasn’t working and I kept getting worse and developing new symptoms. So, after second, third, and fourth opinions, my neurologist believes instead I have fibromyalgia. 1377458708_PfizerLyrica_sm-poster
Thank you for listening, each week I will have a new installment chronicling my journey. Please, please feel free to comment, write, share. I hope to use this forum as a help to all of us, no matter what pain you are experiencing. You may also send stories to me via alleemaeauthor at aol dot com. I will respect your privacy and maintain your anonymity, if you so desire.
Hugs for today …
So, I’ve taken two months’ worth of Lyrica and I continue to see exceptional improvement over how I felt. Of course, if I don’t continue with yoga, stretching, cardio, and strength training, my body feels tighter than the rubber bands on braces. When it’s cold, I imagine the stick of Laffy Taffy…do you remember that candy? The one with the obnoxious flavors, I personally devoured the banana or grape. But, when it was cold, that stuff was hard as a rock, and in the end, a person had to smack it on a hard surface to crack it into manageable pieces. Well, that’s my body without exercise.
So, you’ve got to get up, even if every muscle is screaming. Nothing gets better by remaining semi-immobile.
Something I’ve not noticed any improvement on is my intolerance to noise and other annoyances. So, let’s talk about – IS Misophonia Physiological Response Related to Auto-Immune Disorders?
Since I was a child, I cannot tolerate certain noises or movements. If I engage in repetitive motion too long, it makes me nauseated. I cannot be around anyone smacking food, gum, or heaven freaking forbid SOMEONE EATING A SUCKER! My eye twitches and my rage factor hulks out in a color darker than green.
Also, if someone begins shaking or vibrating the bed, chair, couch, etc that I’m on- I retreat as if on fire. For example, my husband has a nervous leg habit. If he is sitting, he will bounce his knee, not very quickly, but, this deliberate heel lift, toes smash to the floor, and he drops to bounce his heel off the floor. The whole couch has this subtle shake and GEEZ, I get up immediately to move. I know he isn’t doing it on purpose, but, I can’t deal with it. And, if he shakes his leg or foot in bed, forget it, I’m up and out of my cozy warm spot.
So, I’m left to wonder, since my skin, muscles, and nervous system are so sensitive, could my physiological responses somehow be connected? Of course, research on such a thing is rare, if even thought of. But, I will tell you, every nerve ending in my body seems to be on high alert at all times and I cannot imagine there is zero connection.
FindingLoveandBigfoot_LRG

2 thoughts on “Just Out of My Grasp – Misophonia Rears it’s Ugly Head

  1. I just learned that this thing that has made me nearly murderous since I was 9 or 10 years old is called Misophonia Physiological Response. It got so bad that one of my sisters used to tease me by snapping her fingers in my face.
    I have to eat dinner in my bedroom when my step-son visits.
    I spent my first marriage lying and saying that I hated soup so I did not have to eat meals where soup was served around my husband and his mother.
    I could go on and on. The worst problem I deal with now are my dogs grooming themselves and each other. It’s hard to leave the house. On top of it all I have tinnitus.

    Thank you for giving me a path to at least look down, to tell my doctors, therapist, whomever I need to tell about this. You have done me a solid. If there is anything I can ever do for you, give me a shout, just make sure you shout once, as the repetition may cause a violent outburst. LOL!
    Thank You!
    Julianna Shapiro aka whatthejules
    Founder and Executive Director
    The Chronically Awesome Foundation
    Supporting the needs of the chronically ill through online support, peer counseling and artistic expression.
    http://www.chronicallyawesome.org

    • Hi Julianna
      Thank you for the reply. I also have tinnitus, seems the severity changes from time to time- or maybe I’ve just had it so long I ignore it. I cannot stand to eat around certain people for the same reasons you mention, I eat quickly and leave the table. There are certain people in my life that have specific noises I have memorized. I can’t stand our dogs grooming either, or lapping water. I absolutely HATE it when people whistle. The list goes on and on.
      I will say the Lyrica helps with some emotional/physiological stress, however, it’s definitely not taken away my misophonia responses, I think it just helps me chill out.
      I appreciate your support and replies, it helps to know I’m not alone and every new person I “meet” helps validate me. hugs from Texas, but, not too closely. (don’t like anyone in my “bubble”-LOL)

Leave a Reply

