Mom, Why Is Your Phone in the Fridge?

Hello!! I’ve decided to use my blog not only to writing, music, and other facets of entertainment, but, also to share my journey. I’ve had significant health problems for almost two years. Initially, my rheumatologist diagnosed me with systemic lupus (SLE) on June 19, 2013. However, the medication wasn’t working and I kept getting worse and developing new symptoms. So, after second, third, and fourth opinions, my neurologist believes instead I have fibromyalgia. I’m now on Lyrica and higher dose of amitriptyline and it’s working well.1377458708_PfizerLyrica_sm-poster
Thank you for listening, each week I will have a new installment chronicling my journey. Please, please feel free to comment, write, share. I hope to use this forum as a help to all of us, no matter what pain you are experiencing. You may also send stories to me via alleemaeauthor at aol dot com. I will respect your privacy and maintain your anonymity, if you so desire.
Hugs for today …
“Mom, why is your cell phone in the refrigerator?” My daughter calmly asked me as she handed it to me.
“Well, daughter, I’m in the middle of a fibro flare.” After which I went into detail about the symptoms I experience during said flare.
She knows I’ve been visiting doctors for over a year, trying to determine exactly what was wrong with me. But, in typical teenage fashion, she just remembered the cliff notes version. Once the fear of mortal illness was removed, she let the worry of the details flee from her mind (as she should).
But, last night, I got in home from work, it was late and after a long day that began at 6am and did not end until I got home around 6:45pm…just over 12 hours. Which is normal for most parents, but, after the fibromyalgia fully invaded my body, it can make for miserable work weeks. So, I had cell phone in hand, she asked, “what are we having for supper?”, so, I opened the fridge, answered her, set my phone inside, and shut the door.
Yea, that’s a good place for it.
Instead of irritation, I found the humor in the situation. We cooked curry chicken and after a quick clean up, I was in bed by 9:15. I slept hard. And, I needed it.
The fibro fog many of us experience is an exacerbation of the normal forgetfulness many people deal with during times of stress. For me, I will confuse words, jumble words, forget trivial details, forget tasks, and as demonstrated, put my phone in the refrigerator. It’s like I really concentrate and focus hard, but, I just can’t get there. Think about having a dream. In this dream you really want to see a face more clearly, or get away from something, but, your eyes won’t focus, or your feet won’t move. You become frustrated and the harder you try, the even more difficult the task becomes. That’s what fibro fog is to me.
I know what set off this flare, and it was worth it. Which is why I will find humor in the situation.
Saturday night, I finished my first 5K run in almost a year.
It felt amazing.FindingLoveandBigfoot_LRG

Leave a Reply

